Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
westminstress

Pepping up my basil

westminstress
15 years ago

Hello, I have some potted basil that needs to be pepped up. The leaves are only a light green color and the plants aren't growing too fast anymore. They are somewhat spindly as well. I don't see any signs of insects or pests. They are getting about 5 hours of sun a day, which is the best I can do in my relatively shady yard.

My one thought is that the pot is too small (I have three plants in a 12" pot). But they have already been moved once, and I am afraid that transplanting them again will be too much for the plants as it is already mid-August.

My other thought is that the soil doesn't have enough nutrients. They are planted in organic potting soil from a local compost center. I typically water until the water drains out the bottom, so maybe the soil has lost nutrients.

This is my first time growing herbs and I have never fertilized anything before. I am not sure what to use to amend the soil, and I would like to stay away from chemicals. I do have a bag of NYC compost (100% composted leaves) -- can I simply put a layer of that on top of the potting soil? How thick? Do I need to worry about the compost burning the stems of the plants? Any other suggestions? Thanks very much.

Comments (7)

• karen_b
    15 years ago

#1-they aren't getting enough sun to keep them from getting spindly, keep using it so they will be continually pinched back
    #2-one 12" pot depending on how deep would have been best for one plant, that said since it is only August transplant the 3 plants into a much larger pot...at least 2-3 inches wider and fertilize with worm castings or kelp emulsion if you want organic. You may want to fertilize at 1/2 strength after that every other time you water.

Basil will continue to grow until the first frost. So what have you got to loose. Hope you have been using what you have.
    Karen

• westminstress
    Original Author
    15 years ago