Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mgee76_gw

Will this work?

mgee76
14 years ago

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3476/3837099037_2f6cd96c6e_b.jpg

Sage, Basil, Thyme, Oregano, Parsley, and some kind of Lemon Mint thing. It's an 80 gallon tank. There's half an inch of gravel at the bottom, then charcoal, then sphagnum moss, then perlite, then soil. I'm going to add another couple inches to the soil, level to the containers, and get a small fan to keep running. So...

This is my first time growing this many herbs, and first time growing them inside. Some questions: is my setup OK? Anything I should change before things get permanent. I plan on pinching the plants back to start, encourage more bushy growth. Any advice would be awesome, especially concerning soil depth, watering, etc. I am hoping the plants can become a slow, constant source of deliciousness.

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• weedlady
    14 years ago

You said soil...I never would use garden soil in a container. A 4-6" minimum of sterile medium mixed with 1/3 good homemade compost would be a good base, then water with a fish/kelp fertilizer from time to time (about every 10 days). I presume this container will be under lights? "NE" for a location is pretty vague, but if you are gardening indoors, nowhere in the NE will you have sufficient light through a window throughout the winter. Those are sunloving, heat-loving herbs of the Mediterranean. Even if they survive, do not expect them to thrive & supply you with a daily, or even weekly, herbal harvest without enough light (i.e., 14-16 hours of artificial light daily).
    Keep a close eye out for scale, aphids, whitefly, spider mites, etc.!

• mgee76
    Original Author
    14 years ago