Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annewaldron_gw

Varieties of Thyme

annewaldron
18 years ago

I did not know there were so many! Which are the best for cooking? Are there any I should stay away from?

Comments (20)

• noviceherbus
    18 years ago

I am no culinary expert, but my cousin says she loves the English Thyme for the most strength in cooking. I prefer lemon thyme because I love a twist of lemon in everything. I have heard the french thyme is great as well. (French anything in cooking usually is best--) I am in your same boat, as I am experimenting with creeping thyme, Lime and orange thyme and mother of thyme. I don't know if they are any good for cooking yet. I will be interested to see other's answer this.

• annewaldron
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Just as long as I don't inadvertently plant some kind of inedible decorative thyme and try to cook with it!

• CA Kate z9
    18 years ago

I'm not sure that Camphor or Woolly Thyme would be good to eat, but they're not poisonous. Other than those two I can't think of any others that you couldn't cook with.

• granite
    18 years ago

I prefer the English thyme and mother-of-thyme for cooking as they have a good flavor and, when dried, strip off the stem well. Lemon thyme is also great, but I don't use a lot of lemon flavoring in cooking.

Elfin thyme is too small for cooking, woolly thyme has a funny texture and I have tons of thyme so I haven't even tried to cook with it. I agree with Westelle that the Camphor thyme wouldn't accent foods. I also don't care to cook with Orange Balsam thyme other than to use it as a barbeque brush. Orange Balsam thyme makes a small bush, and regular trimming of the branches helps it stay in shape.

Here is a link that might be useful: my gardens

• andy_sa
    18 years ago

Lemon thyme is great with fish and in tomato-based dishes.
    Thymus mastichina (Spanish thyme, bbq thyme) is good in casseroles where a bit of "difference"is required.