Return to the Herbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My mint may have an issue, help is appreciated

Posted by Ryrua none (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 1, 14 at 17:44

Hello, this is my first time posting here.

I'm going to get straight to the point: my sweet mint plant seems to be having issues. I'm growing it indoors, but sometimes set it outside in the sun for a few hours (I live in the hot area of Florida, saying this for reference). I've not had any problems growing mint indoors yet; however I'm slightly concerned for this plant. It seems to have a strange discoloration on its leaves, where it's brown with tiny dark brown/black spots. I'm not sure if this "mint rust" or some kind of infestation, and if I should toss the plant or try my luck with it. I bought it from a garden center; it is not home grown.

I really do enjoy mint plants, so I'm hoping this one is still savable!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My mint may have an issue, help is appreciated

Here's another picture.

o

Being indoors your mint is rather etiolated. My first move would be to harden it off and get it outdoors permanently, in relatively shady spot if you have harsh sunshine. Many woes are cured just by fresh air and sufficient light.

You may have spider mites which are worse inside as there is no wind or rain to disturb them.

o

Alright, I've placed it outside in a spot where it's relatively shady. It will get evening sun. There is a cover above it, so rain won't be able to get to it; should I keep it that way? If it does have spider mites should I try to get it in a spot where rain will be able to get to the plant? It just might be a bit too sunny if it's not under the patio area.

Thank you for your tips!

o

• Posted by dbarron Z6/7 (Oklahoma) (My Page) on
    Sat, Aug 2, 14 at 15:57

Plants are tortured by being made to live inside a house. Their natural environment is not under a roof.