Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tumblingtomatoes

what seed co to order herb seed from?

tumblingtomatoes
11 years ago

Hi all,

Can I get some recommendations as to what's the best seed company to order herb seeds from? I've been growing a small garden of veggies for a few years now but this will be my 1st real attempt @ a little herb garden & some container herbs as well. I'll be gardening w/ kids of different ages & on a tight budget so I'm looking for a seed co that's got reasonable prices as well as good reputation for their seeds having a high germination rate as well. We're thinking of some pretty basic herbs, nothing too fancy or rare......catnip, dill, sage, lambs ears, oregano (greek)for homemade pizzas (yum!) & thyme & maybe zataar.

Thanks for the advice everyone! Have a great weekend & Happy Gardening!! :)

Comments (8)

• opal52
    11 years ago

If you have a Walmart near by, since you will need small quantities of seeds, you may want to try Ferry Morse, or Burpee seeds. I have had very good results from both of those seed companies over the years. Home Depot and Lowes offer Burpee and Ferry Morse seeds also. By purchasing locally, you avoid the shipping costs from mail order. In our area, these three retailers offer seeds only in the spring/summer growing seasons. Maybe in Florida, they are available all year long. I have ordered seeds (all kinds including herbs) online from Park Seed, always with very good results.

• BearDrummer1970
    11 years ago

We bought most of our seeds from Horizon Herbs or Baker Creek Heirloom seeds. They were a bit more expensive, but we wanted organic, non-GMO, and they had what we wanted.

• fatamorgana2121
    11 years ago

Baker Creek is one of my favorite veggie seed vendors - I grow exclusively heirlooms and open pollinated varieties. Excellent place to order from.

FataMorgana

• gjcore
    11 years ago