Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sandpointgal

cuttings in water

sandpointgal
16 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am new to growing herbs and would like to have a culinary indoor herb collection. I was wondering which herbs lend themselves to rooting in water on the windowsill? Thanks, Jessie

Comments (8)

• Daisyduckworth
    16 years ago

It is not a method of propagation mentioned with favour (if at all!) in most worthwhile textbooks on horticulture. Many plants will grow roots in water, but they'll be the water-collecting roots. So when you transplant it, you'll usually end up with a weak plant which has to work doubly hard to stay alive while it tries to produce its anchor roots and its eating roots etc.

Also think how many nutrients there are in water, compared with soil.

Stands to reason, doesn't it? I mean, water is NOT the natural growing medium for most plants. Not the popular culinary herbs, anyway.

You run great risk when striking plants in water that the stems will rot, and bacteria in the water will be absorbed and will spread throughout the plant, giving it a very poor start in life. The plant will not be able to cope with large amounts of these bacteria, as it would in the soil where it has its own defensive mechanisms. You'll need to change the water every day - very unsettling for a plant have a new transplant operation on a daily basis!

It's easy and kinder on the plants to strike cuttings directly into soil. If you're particular, you can buy special cuttings mixtures which are finer than the usual potting mixes. Strike cuttings in a deep pot to give the roots are fair chance to grow downwards.

Don't bother with hormone rooting powders or gel. I have always found that if you dip the cut ends into pure honey, I've had better strike rates. It's antibacterial, and helps encourage root formation. You can't use it in water.

I'm sure there are plenty of people who will disagree with me, but I never recommend striking cuttings in water.