Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rebelgw

Herbal Pet Stress Relief Recipe

rebelgw
14 years ago

Does anyone have a recipe for a combination of herbs that I could mix for pet stress or anxiety relief? I want to make a fabric tube type dog collar and put the herbs in the tube of the dog collar.

Comments (6)

• lavender_lass
    14 years ago

I used to put chamomile on a towel for one of my kitties when he was sick. I checked with the vet and it was supposed to be okay to have a small amount for cats. (I just opened a tea bag and shook it on the towel.) Poor little guy was really sick and it helped him relax, even with the pain.

I would check with the vet first, to make sure it's okay for dogs, but including chamomile in the collar might help them relax. Again, I'm no expert, but it worked for me.

• Daisyduckworth
    14 years ago

When your pet suffers from stress or anxiety, try a combination of the extracts of Oats, Valerian, and Chamomile. Rub a little Lavender oil near the animal's muzzle, or place some on a cotton pad in the pet's bed or in his sleeping area. And remember that if you are stressed, the animal will be too, so sniff a little of that calming Lavender for yourself as well.

These measures will only work if the anxiety or stress is temporary or very mild. If you pet suffers acutely, he will need conventional medication.

My little doggie suffered very badly from anxiety disorder, especially in her last (17th) year of life, though she'd had it for 3-4 years before it became disabling. It got so bad that she'd had a fit, or a stroke, or a heart-attack if separated from me by more than a metre or so. DESPITE the meds she was taking! In the end, it became so distressing, both for her and for me, that the vet advised euthanasia, and I took that advice.