Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gmofreeguy

When will my basil and cilantro start seeding?

GMOFREEGUY
10 years ago

Theyve both been growing flowers and this is my first year growing basil and cilantro so I dont really know what to expect. Any suggestions to get them to start going to seed?

Comments (11)

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Where are you located ?
    Cilantro and basil are in two different categories: The first is cool crop, and the latter a heat loving one.

The best bet is to wait until the next season and cast seeds.
    DO NOT count on RESEEDING ITSELF.

Cilantros are easy to grow from seed.
    Basils, On the other hand, are harder to grow. They need real WARM soil and air temperature.

• fatamorgana2121
    10 years ago

Cilantro reseeds for me very well. I haven't actually sown cilantro in a couple of years but have it in the garden every year. But for best results, seysonn is right. Purposely sow the seeds into prepared beds.

If you are talking about bolting (when these herbs start to flower), that is very condition and weather dependent. What region do you live in?

FataMorgana

• GMOFREEGUY
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Im in the northern california valley. I didnt really do enough homework on my herbs cause i just wanted to try growing a bunch of different herbs in a big planter but a lot of seeds never popped up. My basil and cilantro are the only things that got really big, and i have a little parsley plant growing in a corner of the planter

• GMOFREEGUY
    Original Author
    10 years ago

this was about a week ago so the bolting is a lot taller, and you cant really see the cilantro but its not so pretty

• seysonn
    10 years ago

That is a healthy and tasty looking basil pot.
    I would eat them and would let just one of the branches go to seed.

BTW: flowering of basil is not considered BOLTING. With cilantro it is. Bolting means that it is done :

• GMOFREEGUY
    Original Author
    10 years ago