Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gosssamer

Survivability of herbs outdoors during winter

gosssamer
9 years ago

Hi, I'm in northern NJ, where today it's already down to 40F, and will obviously eventually go below zero. Time to cut off the last of the basil and cilantro, but what about rosemary and my scallions?

Will rosemary and scallions survive the winter, and sprout again next spring? Are they perennial? I know my chives come back every year, but this is my first time with rosemary and scallions outside.

Thanks!

Comments (21)

• Peter1142
    9 years ago

Rosemary may or may not survive a northern NJ winter. You may want to provide some protection. It is a perennial.

Scallions are biennial (two year life cycle) and AFAIK should come back if you don't harvest them.. but most people would harvest and eat them.

• drmbear Cherry
    9 years ago

I don't think you'll have any problem with the onions through the winter. I grow these Egyptian Topsetting onions for "scallions," and I think it is about impossible to kill them. As for rosemary, it is hard to say. It is a perennial, but the hardiness of it is not the best. I had rosemary plants growing in my yard for 7 years in MD and over 5 years in VA with no problems at all. But last winter was kinda cold, and several spring-planted rosemary plants at my new house didn't make it through the winter. This year I planted a slightly hardier ARP rosemary. Maybe the plants that have a few years in the ground do better, so if you can help it some through the toughest times. Alternatively, grow it in a pot and move it to a more protected spot in winter.

• gosssamer
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Great, thanks so much. The scallions grow like weeds, so it would be no big loss if they didn't make it, but I have a pretty substantial rosemary plant that's been growing inside since last March, then transplanted to outside in May. And even though it has a much more limited use than, say, basil, it would be nice to keep it.