Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shola_gw

Culinary herbs

shola
10 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to planting herbs in pots but a local store close to my little herb farm has approached me to grow them potted herbs in 3'inch lightweight plastic pots which I will put in a clear plastic sleeve before delivering to them.

My questions, how can I grow basil, coriander and parsley to have very long but very thin stems with about 5 small leaves on each stem.

Please see the pics of potted herbs attached.

Thanks guys.

Comments (6)

• florauk
    10 years ago

Just my opinion but if I was buying herbs I wouldn't buy any of those examples because of the long pale stems and paucity of leaf. If you actually want that effect it is produced by the plants being grown fast with too little light and too much warmth. Or grown well by the grower and then kept on a supermarket display too long. I never buy herbs but if I did I'd want them to look more like this.

Here is a link that might be useful: Supermarket herbs

• CA Kate z9
    10 years ago

I agree, I wouldn't buy something that looks like your examples either.... and I have been known to buy grocery supplied herbs when I need a lot.

• shola
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the advise guys. I would like to know what you recommend. It's important the stems are somewhat long and not "woody".

Thanks

• balloonflower
    10 years ago

Why the long stems? With the exception of stock with parsley stems or smoking/grilling with dried basil stems you don't use the stem. A serious cook should be looking for the leaves to be healthy. Or grower for that matter since I think these are meant to plant? As previously stated, the long stems are probably a result of forced growth and insufficient light.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    10 years ago