Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kris_gw

All you lavender lovers

kris
18 years ago

I'm considering moving a sad little azalea which isn't growing well in a northeast foundation bed that gets morning sun afternoon shade. I was thinking of replacing it with a lavender and I know you all know the best cultivars. I'm new to lavender since we just didn't succeed with them in FL.

I'm in Texas (Dallas area) on the border between zone 8A and 7 (technically in Z8a). This summer highs reached into the low 100's regularly (record high here is 115) and we get droughts. We have heavy clay (that I will ammend) that is calcerous alkaline. I'm growing a hidecote blue in the black and sweet lavendar (lavendula heterophilia) in the back garden, and the sweet lavander has nearly doubled since july (the hidecote is new).

I would love a magestic lavender that will grow large and tall with nice form and flowers that would be noticable from the street-lavendar fits that right?.

So give me your best suggestions :)

Thanks everyone.

Kristi

Comments (13)

• martieinct
    18 years ago

Lavandula intermedia 'Grosso' or 'Dutch Mill' fronted with Lavandula angustifolia 'Blue Cushion'. Pop in some L.a. 'Alba' and L.a. 'Rosea' to add color other than blue. All are very long blooming, not finicky, hold their shape well, will take the afternoon shade, and are maintenance free.

The L. intermedias in bloom will be about 5' tall in your zone. The L. angustifolias will be about 2'. They could all get taller if they are in full sun.

'Grosso' has a bit darker flowering than 'Dutch Mill' and is a bit more robust. I like 'Dutch Mill' for the bit lighter foliage when combining with other lavs.

Check the University of Deleware website. They are lav afficianados. To buy, nothing beats Papa Genos by mailorder.

Martie

• CA Kate z9
    18 years ago