Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
imperfectly83

mint question

imperfectly83
18 years ago

Hi there,

I'm a beginner so excuse the simplicity of this problem. I posted this on the propogation forum as well but no reply yet so I thought I'd try it here. My friend was kind enough to give me a cutting from her spearmint plant. I am trying to root it in water. I've been searching the forum for details and pretty much all i've come across is that mint is easy. This bodes well.

HOwever, being completely inexperienced, I want to check on how exactly to do this. Right now I've got the mint suspended in a jar of water, about 1 1/2 inches under the water, about 3 out of the water. It's only been a few days. There are six small but healthy-looking leaves on the cutting. I removed 2 closer to the water line. It's sitting in my south-east facing windowsill (where I also have parsley, aloe vera and garlic, all happily growing for a few months now). It's really cloudy around here, so it's hard to say how much sunlight it will get on average. I'm a little confused on that point too, since I've read some things saying that I should keep it out of direct sunlight, and some saying it absolutely needs to be in the light...

Is there anything else I need to do? Am I doing anything wrong? How long does it take to get roots? I've also read that when transplanting to soil I should keep it in the shade for a few weeks to help it transition.

Any advice would be much appreciated!!

Comments (10)

• Heathen1
    18 years ago

don't be afraid to ask newbie questions! :o) With mint... don't worry, it is so easy it'd root about anywhere. Though usually, the best would be indirect light, some shade, so that instead of putting it's energy into growing, it will put it's energy into rooting.