Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lvmygrdn1

Blackberry Frost

lvmygrdn1
9 years ago

I am new to heuchera and am obsessed. I just brought home Blackberry Frost. What a pretty plant. I took the photo with my iPad and without my glasses, my apologies. What are your thoughts on this plant? I put it at the front of the border.

Comments (9)

• lvmygrdn1
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Dummy me! It's Blackberry Ice not Blackberry Frost. I have Violet Frost on the brain because I looked at that too. Ree

• tepelus
    9 years ago

Very pretty and I need one. :D

Karen

• flower_frenzy
    9 years ago

That's one from the Dolce series. I love the color. Thanks for sharing...another one to add to my list.

• lvmygrdn1
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you flower-frenzy. I looked up Dolce series on the internet as I wasn't sure it was about. Now I have others to add to me list. :)

Thank you for your posts. I've been reading them and learning a lot.

• flower_frenzy
    9 years ago

If you're looking at buying some in the Dolce series, you might consider 'Dolce Peach Melba'. It grows nicely for me. It comes out deeply colored like this in the spring and then fades to a mellow peach color in the summer. The leaves have nice veining in the summer as well, if you like that look. Some of the oldest leaves turn greenish, as you can see from the bottom of the picture. Sometimes it has a tri-color look when everything's going on all at once.

• lvmygrdn1
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Oh my Peach Melba is beautiful. I may have to add that to my online order. After reading the posts I picked up Kassandra, Berry Smoothie and Paris yesterday because I remember seeing them on this board. A lot of the varieties I like online seem to be hard to find. I think I will place an order. Does the Dolce series perform as well as others. I'm in zone 7 and the summers can get pretty hot. From what I've read the Villosa Heuchera do well in the heat and humidity.