Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cakbu_gw

Heucheras and Hostas?

cakbu
9 years ago

I'm new to Heucheras...just bought several. I read here a lot of people seem to be planting Heucheras and Hostas together. I'm confused because (I believe) Heucheras (most) like sun but Hostas like shade. How are people combining these?
So far I have marmalade lime, purple palace, Georgia peach, Bessingham coral, and caramel. I have put them in pots and located them various places to see where they will be happiest. Attached is a picture of my marmalade.
I'm sure I will be adding to my collection!
Cheryl

This post was edited by cakbu on Thu, Jun 5, 14 at 8:38

Comments (14)

• jadie88
    9 years ago

Hosta and heuchs play very well together. :) In your zone, afternoon sun can be intense...heuchs could bask in the sunshine all day in those northerly zones but fry in hot southern sun. Not sure where you are, but anywhere in zone 9 would be hot for heuchera, right? In my zone 7a MD garden, some shade in the afternoon seems to be helpful.

Have you heard about villosa hybrids being best for hot zones?

• funnthsun z7A - Southern VA
    9 years ago

Funny enough, I ditto what was said above, but the actual water requirements are not the same for hostas and heucheras, although they do play well in the same sandbox. I have them planted together all over. I always water the heucheras less or just skip them altogether when I'm watering my hostas. Hostas need more water, heucheras tend to like it a bit leaner on the watering.

• jimr66
    9 years ago

They do well together, the color and leaf shape contrast well with hosta another good plant is Ligularia. There are 4 heuchera in the pic, Plum Pudding, Caramel, Fire Chief and way toward the back a Sweet Tart in flower

• Liz321
    9 years ago