Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cakbu_gw

Heuchera in the winter?

cakbu
9 years ago

This is my first year with heuchera. I have marmalade, palace purple, caramel, Georgia peach, peppermint spice, peach flambe. They are all doing great. How should I treat them in the winter? Most are in pots, so I can move them around. I have two that are still in the plastic pots (6") that I purchased them in; should I repot them into something bigger? We get occasional frost, should I be concerned and cover them with frost cloth? Do they go dormant? Here in California we are in a drought, but should be get more rainfall this winter, will too much rain affect them? Any help would be appreciated.
Cheryl

Comments (5)

• flower_frenzy
    9 years ago

With all of your heuchera in pots, the thing I would worry about the most is crown rot. Heuchera don't like to be too wet. If you're going to overwinter them in pots, you should consider bringing them into a covered area near the house. You don't have to bring them inside the garage or anything, but under a porch with a roof overhang would be ideal. That way you can control the amount of water they're getting. Plus, bringing them near the house will usually keep them warm enough to prevent heaving as a result of frosts and thaws. The leaves usually do just fine with frosts-it's the heaving that seems to be the biggest problem.

As far as watering goes-as with hosta overwintering in pots-only water them very sparingly when the soil seems dry.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    9 years ago

In California, I would not worry about heucheras in winter :-)) Even in containers. I grow a lot of heuchs in containers and typically overwinter several varieties in their nursery sized pots. No issues at all.