Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rock_n_ruf

question about new heuchera's i just got

rock_n_ruf
11 years ago

Good afternoon everyone!
Last week I got some 3" potted heuchera's and immediately re-potted them in 6" pots. Now i'm not really sure what to do with them...
I am overwintering a bunch of peppers, so, should I let them stay with the peppers to help them grow a little before spring? Or, since they are perennials, should I put them in the garage so they can go into hibernation? I have a few container hostas in there now...
This is the first time I purchased plants so late in the season, so i'm not really sure how to proceed...
thank you!

Comments (4)

• dg
    11 years ago

I am over wintering a couple of potted heuchera in my unheated garage. This is my first year doing so, so I'm hoping it will work. I plan on checking mine to be sure they don't dry out, at the same time being careful they are not soggy either. I have over wintered potted hosta like this for several winters and plan to treat the heuchera in a similar manner. I assume they will go dormant when the really cold weather sets in and is here to stay.

Hopefully someone will chime in with heuchera experience.
    :-)
    Fingers crossed,
    Deb

• rock_n_ruf
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I am sure yours will be fine!
    With mine, I'm just afraid with them being so young... I'm not sure what will happen. I'm sure I'm just being overly protective of the new additions!

• dg
    11 years ago

I can relate to your feeling protective over the newbies. I've read that heuchera need to dormancy to bloom their best, but I understand that you just want them to survive the winter. If you do overwinter like a house plant, be sure the humidity in your home isn't too dry.