Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aircad3

Yellowing leaves

aircad3
11 years ago

I'm relatively new to growing hibiscus plants and am having a little trouble with the plant I bought back at the end of November.

In early December several of the leaves began to turn yellow and fall off but it never stopped blooming. My grandmother suggested that it might be too hot/too much direct light for the plant and I moved it indoors. (It was still getting up to the 90s here about that time) The plant seemed to bounce back and I did not have nearly as many leaves dropping so then I moved it back to my patio but this time in a shadier spot.

A week or so later the leaves began turning yellow again so I moved it back indoors. Once again the leaves stopped turning yellow and I moved it back outside. Now it's turning yellow again.

From everything I've read online, the hibiscus likes it hot and likes to be in the sun so I'm not sure why the plant does not like to be outdoors when it is 60 or above.

I haven't changed my watering routine while I transition it from indoors to outdoors. The only other thing I can think of is the shadier spot on my balcony is near the dryer vent so maybe once a week it will have some extra heat blown near it. O and occassionally it has gotten down to the 40s at night.

Meanwhile it has never stopped blooming but the plant is beginning to look naked.

Comments (7)

• delreytropical
    11 years ago

Well I have a tropical hibiscus, same color and bloom as yours and I brought it inside during the winter. Before I brought it inside I noticed that some leaves had fallen off as our nights would get to 40 degrees, the tag on my hibiscus said bring inside once 50 degree nightime temps come so that could be a possible suspect.