Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
palmfan

Hardy/Tropical Hibiscus Hybrids

palmfan
13 years ago

I am looking for Hibiscus 'White Angel'. It is a syriacus/rosa-sinensis hybrid. It was developed several years ago, but apparently has not yet reached the market. Is there anyone out there on this forum who can help me locate a way to purchase this plant, or be involved in testing it?

Thanks in advance!

Comments (10)

• demonstimpy
    13 years ago

I have 9 or 10 of these zone 4/5 Hibs.
    Kept in pots over winter. I was planning on putting them in the ground this year.....are they actually dead in anyone's opinion? I'm new to these so I am not sure.
    Any input is appreciated.

Here is a link that might be useful:

• palmfan
    Original Author
    12 years ago

What you have(Had?) is NOT what I was looking for. Yours is a Hibiscus moscheutos hybrid of hardy types. I am looking for true hybrids of the tropical Hibiscus rosa-sinensis with Hibiscus syriacus( The woody Rose of Sharon).
    I have since acquired Hibiscus 'Pink Comet', said to be a hybrid of the tropical hibiscus with the hardy type. Fascinating, if really such a hybrid!
    Meanwhile, I DO have a fascinating hibiscus which can bloom into November, and even December, in New York City, and New Jersey! It is Hibiscus mutabilis 'Rubrus'. This is a real powerhouse bloomer! It is at least semi-tropical. It can put on up to ten feet of woody growth in one season from the roots, if protected at the crown from severe freezing. It is killed back in the winter to the roots (the soil line).

• Stush2049 Pitts. PA, zone 6
    12 years ago

Palmfan,
    As with the post from 'twizzlestick' who is trying to breed a yellow hardy. I too am interested. With a hybrid the chance to breed to a yellow tropical may give rise to a yellow hardy. Are the hybrids you mentioned hardy to zone 6 ???
    Stush

• palmfan
    Original Author
    11 years ago