Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
poppy_power

Nicking Hibiscus seeds?

poppy_power
18 years ago

Hello: I need advice on which end of the hibiscus seed I nick before starting under grow lights?Thanks!

Comments (23)

• beachbarbie
    18 years ago

OK, I hope this makes sense.....
    One side of the hibiscus seed is curved in, with a point at one end. The OTHER side is round. Nick the center of this (round) side.
    Barb

• poppy_power
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Hello:Barb I appreciate your advice.It looks like I nicked the seeds ok.This is my first time growing hibiscus seeds.Last year I grew the yellow manihot and the seeds look different.Thanks!Karla

• sunlight2231960
    18 years ago

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone could tell me what nicking is and why you do it? I have never heard of it before. I am going to try to grow some hibiscuses this year and wondered if I would need to nick my seeds?

Thanks for any help,

Melissa

• gardeniarose
    18 years ago

Melissa,
    Nicking the seeds is where you nick just the outer hard "shell" of the seed so that moisture can get in easier and germination will be sooner. That is the way I understand it. I nick moonflower and morning glory seeds as well, then I soak them overnight in water and plant them the next day. I use a very sharp knife and be careful not to nick the embryo inside.

• alden51566
    18 years ago