Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
demonstimpy

Dead?

demonstimpy
13 years ago

I have 9 or 10 of these zone 4/5 Hibs.

Kept in pots over winter. I was planning on putting them in the ground this year.....are they actually dead in anyone's opinion? I'm new to these so I am not sure.

Any input is appreciated.

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (11)

• princealbert
    13 years ago

demonstimpy
    That looks like one of the hardy varieties. that stem is dead, but the plant should come back from the roots. Mine do. I cut mine back in the spring so thet the new growth dosent have to grow around it. most of mine are in pots because the dirt in my yard is poor.
    pa

• demonstimpy
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for the response pa.
    I'll get them cut back and in the ground soon then.
    Thanks again.

• princealbert
    13 years ago

I am waiting until after Easter to move mine out of the GH. I expect 1 more cold snap here in central texas.
    pa

• demonstimpy
    Original Author
    13 years ago

No greenhouse here. I was hoping they would come back each year in the ground. That the case? Assuming they would, are the going to flower in your opinion?

• princealbert
    13 years ago

Most of mine live in pots. I haven't put them in the ground because I am planning to move. I do have a couple in the ground and they do come back from the roots each year for the last 3 years.
    pa

• rosco_p
    13 years ago

Demonstimpy; I just wanted to share with you a picture of my pink Hibiscus which I also thought was dead but came back from the brink to bloom better than ever. By the way this was a tropical hib. in zone 6. I believe you should still be hopeful. Ross.

• demonstimpy
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Ross,

Is kept inside in Winter?

• rosco_p
    13 years ago