Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
krismast

Erin Rachel Hibiscus Source?

krismast
11 years ago

Hi everyone! I think this is my first time posting here, I'm usually over in the citrus forum.

Anyway, my mom fell in love with the Erin Rachel hibiscus after seeing it bloom at Longwood Gardens. Last summer we tracked down a plant and it was the last they had in stock. We got it home and we were excited for it to bloom. Well it did bloom but it wasn't Erin Rachel, just a red bloom. Needless to say my mom was disappointed.

So, I was wondering if anyone here knows of or has a source of a cutting of this plant. I would really like to get my mom one and root it and give it to her as a gift. I would be willing to pay for the cutting and postage. Unfortunately, I don't really have anything to trade for it.

Thanks for your help!

Kristopher

Comments (9)

• Gutzmek
    11 years ago

Kristopher,
    I have four Erin Rachel pots that contain 3 plants each that I inherited. They are approaching their five year mark and are still one of my favorites. I posted a picture of them in my recent 'pruning' post, but good news. I left a few stems to start cuttings for two friends here. Depending on my success, I may have some spares. Or if you really, really, want one, make a road trip. I would love to find a good home for 2-3 of these large pots. Have more plants on order and need the room.
    E.R. items of note.
    -Charles Black has sold them online at Hidden Valley Hibiscus.
    -I have read that they tend to produce less blooms the older they get. I believe they need a heavier pruning to optimize the bloom output. Last year I had daily blooms.
    -Lastly, the blooms are temp and sunlight sensitive. Temps around 80-90 with about an hour of direct sun produces the best colors. Morning sun with shade in the afternoon is preferred.

I have attached an image of a bloom after I brought them in last October. The color contrast is a bit light after the change in temp and lighting.
    Ed