Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ostrich0001

HELP! My hibiscus tree is dropping tons of leaves everyday!!!

ostrich
19 years ago

PLEASE HELP! My hibiscus tree is dropping tons of leaves every single day! I bought this yellow hibiscus tree last summer from a local nursery. It has been doing very well up until this point and it is placed next to a south facing window with lots of natural light. Lots of flower buds started to appear last month, and a couple of weeks ago, it started to drop leaves like crazy! The leaves would turn yellow and then drop. I cannot find any insects or pest at all. I water the plant regularly and it's not under/over watered. So what could be the problem here? Could all the many flower buds be taking away too much nutrients from the leaves? I am a newbie at this so I would really appreciate your help! Thanks in advance!

Comments (12)

• ostrich
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks, flowerbrackob! Yes, mine is a tropical yellow hibiscus tree with double flowers and it's in a pot inside my house. I really appreciate your insight - so does yours just lose part of or all of its leaves, before they come back out again? Also, how long does it take for the leaves to come back out? Thanks again!

• beachbarbie
    19 years ago

Hibiscus leaves last about 8 months, then die. Yours is probably getting ready for spring and new leaf growth. All the leaves won't be lost - just the oldest ones. You should see new growth soon - within a week or 2.
    It is a scary sight, but even mine to it this time of year and and they have buds on them.
    Barb

• ostrich
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks, Barb!

The strange thing is, even the NEWEST leaves are turning yellow and dropping! At first, I thought it's just the oldest leaves, but even the small and young leaves are doing so. Isn't that strange? Or do all the leaves drop off anyway? Yes, it's very scary........

• littlebit1983_msn_com
    14 years ago