Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowercrazy44

the differnce between rose of sharon and hibiscus?

flowercrazy44
19 years ago

I hope this doesn't sound like a dumb question. i was just wondering what the difference is between the two plants as they both look the same to me. Is rose of sharon more hardier than the hibiscus as I think that what you see more of in our area as we have harsh winters here. I have started tons of hibiscus seedlings but I will probably have to dig them up during the fall and bring them indoors and use as houseplants.I am new to all of this.

Thanks

Comments (10)

• minibim
    19 years ago

Rose of Sharon - botanical name Hibiscus syriacus. Common names can cause confusion, botanical names don't.

• wmc1
    19 years ago

If they are hardy Hibiscus you dont have to dig up in fall, they die back and come up again in spring.

• birdsnblooms
    19 years ago

Rose of Sharon are much hardier than even the hardiest hibiscus. One of my Rose of Sharon, started from a cutting, is now over 15' tall, whereas a hardy (not tropical) hibsicus (started from seed in 91) dies back in fall, then wakes up around June/July. One hardy hib has flowers w/diameters of 10-13" This is the Disco Belle w/red flowers. Another hardy hib w/white flowers, though only 7" diameter blooms, grow similar to the Disco Belle. I've also a young, 2 yr old purple flowered Rose of Sharon I bought at Home Depot..that's about 3 1/2' tall..Toni

• flowercrazy44
    Original Author
    19 years ago