Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gingerlili

Suicidal Hibiscus

gingerlili
19 years ago

Hi,

This is my first time posting on this forum, but I just discovered you exist. I know an infanous suicidal gardenia thread was on GW, so this is my plea for my hibiscus.

Last year, a florist gave me a hibiscus plant that wasn't doing so well at her shop. It was peach blossomed and trained to be a topiary with a corkscrew trunk. I repotted it, and after dropping one set of leaves, it revived and thrived all summer and fall. When it turned cool, I started bringing it in, and then one day this February, I put it in the back shower and watered it. Unfortunately, I forgot I did that. Three weeks later, I remembered.

I went to the tub expecting to find a dead tree. Instead, I found it covered in deep green leaves with five buds. I gave it another drink and then moved it to the back room near a large picture window where it bloomed. The next week, the temp rose, so I tried to give it some sun. In the firstten minutes, its leaves began to droop. I brought it back inside, and it recovered in 30 minutes. The next day, I tried it agian with the same results.

So I waited until it was a warmer. This time I left it out for the day. That night, I noticed the leaves were curled and parts had turned see through. So I put it back in the shower, where it dropped the old leaves and has strated to sprout new ones.

This weekend, I pulled it out of the shower and announced that it had to learn to live outside.

Here are my questions: Is it possible for a plant to have an aversion to being outside? Can it prefer to live in my shower? What would you do?

Comments (5)

• rjj1
    19 years ago

YouÂre not giving it a chance to acclimate. I would put it in full shade and leave it. After a week, move it where a few hours of morning sun is all it gets. Then expose it to stronger sun over a week or two until it's lovin that full sun thing.

randy

• birdsnblooms
    19 years ago