Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linnea56chgo5b

Tropical hibiscus: repotting and light conditions

I just bought a tropical type hibiscus. I have no experience with these, but have always wanted one. It is bushy and multi-branched rather than trained to a tree form. It is in a substantial 1 gallon pot. The plant itself is maybe 18" across.

Should I assume it needs repotting right away? Should I take it out of the pot to check, or will that stress it too much? I am hoping to have it out on the deck all summer and winter it indoors.

Where would it be happiest? I have a wide deck with different conditions. There is morning shade for all parts of the deck. I can offer it then, full afternoon sun; filtered sun under a latticed trellis; or bright shade sheltered under a tall tree shading one end of the deck.

Comments (15)

• watergal
    16 years ago

I would check and see if it needs a larger pot. It won't hurt it to look. I would put it in the sunniest spot you have and plan to water a lot once it gets hot out.

Check out the web site below for lots of good info.

Here is a link that might be useful: Tropical Hibiscus

• watergal
    16 years ago

I use plastic because I'm a klutz and I break clay pots, plus I can't keep up with the watering. The roots do like ventilation, so if you can water enough, clay would be fine too.

• nobreyner
    16 years ago

I'd go with the plastic pot as the clay pots absorb water from the soil requiring a more frequent watering.

Plastic pots are lighter and conduct less heat. The only reasons to use clay pots are preference or you may need something heavy enough to keep a growing plant from blowing over.

• shecrab
    16 years ago

I have a potted hibiscus that suspect is very root bound. Greenery is deep green and I'm seeing buds. I did a severe pruning early spring but I think I need to do a root pruning. Is it too late?

• jenny_in_se_pa
    16 years ago