Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meghanize

Just Bought a Hibiscus... Now What?

meghanize
16 years ago

I just acquired a beatiful hibiscus tree as shown below. It has one yellow bloom and looks prefectly healthy. After I got it home, I cut the plastic pot from around it, loosened the root ball by running some water over it, then repotted in in a 10" ceramic pot with a nicely sized center drainage hole in some Miracle-Gro potting mix. I watered thoroughly and placed the new plant on my back deck which receives a good 12-14 hours of sunlight per day, with three or more of those hours direct sun.

{{gwi:887738}}

{{gwi:887740}}

What fertilizer is recommended? Do you think the plant will get too much sunlight in this area?

I am new to hibiscuses, so any advice or tips those of you more knowledgeable than myself can offer would be appreciated.

Comments (4)

• User
    16 years ago

Meghanize,
    Congraulations on your beautiful yellow tropical hibiscus!
    It is truly beautiful!
    I would try to put it "up" a little bit off your deck by using something underneath of it, I use milk crates or plastic Pepsi holders, but you could use a little thing they sell at your local Walmart store and put a small plastic container drainage thing- they sell them at Walmart too, underneath of the pot holder or booster to collect water from drainage to protect your deck and make plant happy.
    Water real good til the water drains out of the bottom and you can see it draining when the plant is dry after sticking one of your fingers down into the soil at least an inch and feeling it is dry.
    It is better to give it a real good water this way when it is dry rather than giving it smaller waterings more often.
    Buy a spray water bottle that will mist the plant and every day when it is warm, mist it. Once a week put Miracle grow in the mister and mist the plant with that.
    THey love Miracle Grow!
    It is a real treat for them!