Return to the Hibiscus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
hardy hibiscus from seed

Posted by artzypantz z5 / IOWA (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 1, 07 at 13:06

I have been growing hardy hibs for a few years from seed. I had a ton of seed about 4 years old so i just dumped it all in pots to see what would come up. I got 5 plants from about 200 seeds.
When the seedlings were about 2 to 2 1/2 inches tall, i got impatient and planted them out in the yard in their spots. Since planting them outside we have had way to much rain & Two of them have died flopped over at the base.
Its still raining and we are forcast to have days on end of more rain.
Should i dig up the remaining 3 tiny plants and put them back into a pot & bring them in the house?
I hate to lose them. You know how it goes when you want to get your yard going with certain plants, but just don't go and buy them and your impatient, lol.
Thanks
Tonia

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: hardy hibiscus from seed

Hi Tonia.
If i were you i would do everything in order to safe the plants.I would dig them up and put them into pots.
I grow Hardy Hibiscuses for more than 10 years and i treasure them.They are my favorite plants.Let us see what others say.
My best.
Hala.

o

I would also dig them up to a very loose well drained media. I have seen heavy rainfall this spring in Texas as well and because I did a very loose (well drained media I am getting great results with my hibiscus(s)and my maters. You can always plant them later when the weather settles down. Good Luck and Happy Growing David

o

I agree..If the rain continues, I'd also dig up, place in pot, set in sunny window..wait until seedlings are at least 7" tall before setting outside.
One of my hardy hibs was started from seed back in 89. Disco Belle, Hib. As seed germinated, I then left pot in a south window.
Be careful when digging up roots..You don't want to break the little guys..Good luck, Toni

o