Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
polemonium_gw

hibiscus starts from cuttings

polemonium
17 years ago

Hello, hibiscus experts,

I am not an expert, no indeed, but have had a number of exotic hibiscus growing fairly successfully in my front yard in California for about six years. This year, I got several new hibiscus, including a pretty thing called Dancin' Dragon. Unfortunately, we had a freak late frost, which weakened this infant plant severely. It looked as though it was trying to recover, but then some animal got into the flower bed one night and snapped the poor little stick off at ground level!

However, I noticed that the leaves on this twig still looked perky the next day, so I sliced the whole thing in half lengthwise, and lo and behold, there was fresh green tissue everywhere underneath the bark. I dipped each half in Root-Tone, stuck each into potting material, and put each pot into its own vegetable bag, out of direct sunlight.

It's now about five weeks later, and there are half a dozen tiny new leaves on each potted twig, and this--after such a loooong buildup--is where my question comes in:

For those of you who have successfully rooted hibiscus from hard wood, when do they become sturdy enough that you can take the plastic baggie/greenhouse thing off them, and treat them like real houseplants?

Comments (3)

• gardeniarose
    17 years ago

I have rooted hibiscus the same way you did. I removed them from the baggie when they had enough roots to sustain them. I think mine had 3 or 4 roots that were about an inch long when I took the bag off. Good luck!

• polemonium
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thank you, gardeniarose.

• danishhibiscus
    17 years ago