Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brighty1

Newbie needs advise - buds dropping

brighty
12 years ago

I'm a newbie to growing this beautiful flower and I need some help.

I re-potted my only hibiscus last summer. It has grown larger but the leaves look pale and yellow/green and the buds keep falling off before they bloom. What am I doing wrong? It gets plenty of sun. Maybe not enough water?

How often should I water it in this sunny Calif. heat and what is the best over the counter fertilizer to use?

It looked so pretty when I bought it. It had big deep yellow flowers. Now it looks so branchy and sad.

Thanks for your help.

Comments (4)

• TulsaRose
    12 years ago

Is it a Tropical Hibiscus, Hibiscus rosasinensis or one of the Hardy Hibiscus, Hibiscus moscheutos or one of the many others?

Since you're growing it in a container, the variety may not matter. Mine get yellow leaves\drop buds during extremely dry conditions or extremely wet.

You'll find some good info at the link below.

Here is a link that might be useful: How To Care For Hibiscus Plants

• houstontexas123
    12 years ago

how often do you water? i have to water mine every 2 days or it'll drop buds.

i use regular miracle gro.

• brighty
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thank you for the information. I don't know the variety of the plant but the link to the article was a great help. Also, you both made me realize that I am not watering nearly enough. Thanks for all your help!

• JazzysMom
    12 years ago