Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arletta_gw

Trying to save two hibiscus plants

arletta
16 years ago

Hello,

This is my first time posting on the board and I'm hopeful that someone can offer good advice.

My dad passed away last year, and he was an avid gardener. He LOVED his hibiscus plants, and now I have them. I feel responsible to give them tender care, because they were his plants.

My dad lived in NY and I live in NJ. I brought them home last summer and they did fantastic. When fall rolled around I brought them in, and this year when the weather turned warm, I put them out again. They're in the shade for most of the day and I water them at night.

Saturday morning I went out and I saw that deer ate practically every leaf off of both plants. The plants look horrible. I'm at a loss as to what to do with them. I don't want to throw them out, I feel guilty doing that, but I don't know what to do with them at this point. They look like planted sticks. Will they come back? One of the 2 plants wasn't looking too great anyway, but now they both look terrible. I guess I'm trying to figure out whether or not to hang in there with them, and if yes, should I cut them back?

Thank you for taking time to read this post. Any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated.

Arletta

Comments (6)

• corona9
    16 years ago

A couple of my hibiscus have been stressed by lost leaves and weather conditions.
    If the damage on yours is confined to the leaves and not the stalk, I would feed them with either hibiscus food or MiracleGro 13-13-13 or 20-20-20. Keep them in a shady spot. If the stalks are broken, prune the damaged limb(s).
    I have 12 hibs in my backyard and haven't lost any due to stress or stripped leaves - yet.

• arletta
    Original Author
    16 years ago