Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suel41452

Need advice for Tree-form ROS not leafing out

suel41452
14 years ago

Hi, all!

I have 4 ROS in large pots I have been training to tree-form for the past 2 years. They are 3-4 feet high now. This spring I removed all the lower growth & cut the top stem off to encourage top growth. Only 1 plant leafed out at the top and is blooming now. The other 3 have refused to!! One of those is putting forth new growth at the middle, but the other 2 aren't doing anything yet. Would it be a good idea to cut off the top few inches to stimulate growth? Anything else to try (besides wait & see?) Thanx for any help!!

Comments (5)

• jeannejeanie
    14 years ago

i have the same problem ... i scratched the trunk of 3 ROS trees and found that they are dead. they must have drowned during our spring... it was so wet this year...the one putting out growth in the middle will leaf out .. the other 2 check to see if they are dead ... good luck jeannie

• suel41452
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for the reply. I think 2 are definitely dead, but I cut them down to somewhat green wood in hopes that might spur them to leaf out. The one with the green buds will leaf out, but time will tell if it will survive. Thanx for the sympathy!!

• wally_1936
    14 years ago

One Question, why are you growing them in pots. When I lived in Michigan they grew quite large in the ground. Here they will grown to into a bush or can be pruned back to one trunk to become somewhat of a small "tree" They will reseed themselves if the seeds fall on open ground.

• suel41452
    Original Author
    14 years ago

My ROS are 'Blushing Bride' cultivars which are sterile; therefore, no seedlings.