Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jameya

help with new tree..

jameya
9 years ago

Hello i went to a store and found a good sale on plants. I found one jane cowll i think it is and got it spur of the moment. It has a small bit of new growth on the bottom of the trunk, and the trunk looks green, but on the top part, where the flowers and smaller branches are, it looks a bit woody and dry if that makes sense. I repotted it and used miricle grow and added a bit of oscmote fertlizer into the soil. I didnt cut the roots or anything and some were growing in a circle. I carefully just got most of them untangled without breaking any off. I also trimmed off the small stems that were broken, or looked dead with no growth. Im going to add a couple pictures of it.
Is there anything i should do, to make it look a bit better, or make it healthier?? Any advice would be great as i am new to the whole plant thing, and was hoping with some tlc this will bounce back, but im not sure what kind of tlc it needs...

Comments (7)

• jameya
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here is another picture of it, not sure if you can see what im talking about where the small branches look like wood or dried out almost...

• ampa62
    9 years ago

Hello Jameya,

I also have a Hibiscus (now with about 15-20 yrs).
    In the first 3 years it did not growth more than 30/40 cm, because it was not in an open sun area.
    Give it lots of sun and protect it from cold winter (here I never have snow).
    Maybe it will grow better not being in the pot.

Regards.

• jameya
    Original Author
    9 years ago