Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
theseventhlegend

Hibiscus question - blooms last 24 hrs?

theseventhlegend
16 years ago

I'm a newbie at Hibiscus plants so please bare with my ignorance. Do the blooms only last 24 hours? My plant flowers and the blooms fall off in less than a day. Is this normal?

While on the subject, does Hibiscus like full sun, part shade, a lot of water, or what? I bought it on clearance as a twig with very little leaves and brought it back to life. It has grown great and want to keep it thriving.

Comments (7)

• theseventhlegend
    Original Author
    16 years ago

*Added Pics

Yes the leaves are dark green and shiny. Has mostly full sun till about 4-5 pm. It's grown alot and doing very well since I bought it (saved it). The Wal-mart tag reads "Assorted Hibiscus" and Cold Hardy to 20 F. degrees. It's about 3ft tall now. I used Miracle Grow fertilizer aout 1 month ago. Sorry I didn't have any blooms to take a pic of, I can see some buds so maybe tomorrow. The blooms have a red center yellow outer flower.

Why do the blooms only last a day?

{{gwi:896181}}

{{gwi:896182}}

• User
    16 years ago

Your hibiscus looks great!
    You are doing great with it!
    DOn't let it get cold though, if you have the room, bring it indoors for the winter.
    As you can see, it also loves Miracle grow.
    The blooms only last a day, but it will bloom alot.
    You will see, they can constantly bloom and can get quite large also.
    Unfortnately my red one is too big to bring in this winter. I love it too.
    It will die outside in the cold. It is at least 5-6 feet tall now. I am afraid if I hack it down, it may not survive inside.
    I didn't know it would grow so tall and get humongeous!
    Good Luck! You are doing great with your plant.

• surly_girly
    16 years ago

butterfly4u:

I think you can prune back your red hibiscus by 50%, and then bring it in for the winter.