Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tobalcony

container hibiscus advice

tobalcony
17 years ago

Hi there,

I just bought a "hibiscus hybrid" Rum Runner. It's an mpulse buy, I fell in love with the colour, great greenery and size, and the fact that it can be a container plant makes it perfect for my high rise southeast facing balcony.

So here I am asking for advice! I am rather new to container gardening ...

1. It is in an 8 inch container ... should I transplant it into a larger pot? I have 12 inch and 14 inch clay pots available. If not now, when?

2. I was reading down the messages, I just had a white fly infestation on my tomatoes (have no idea how they made up this high ... ok, they flew), can I do any preventative stuff for this beauty?

3. How long can this survive in a pot, with good care? 5 years? 1 year? I plan to winter it inside due to our cold winters.

Thank you in advance!

Comments (5)

• torpeau
    17 years ago

1. Do you think it's rootbound? You should only move it up one pot size. Too much new soil can hold a lot of water and they do NOT like wet/soggy soil, They need really good drainage. Clay pots lose a lot of moisture, so it may be wise to grow in in a plastic pot that you put inside the better-looking clay pot.

2. Get a $5 spray bottle of Bayer Rose & Flower -- contains imidacloprid.

3. It can stay in a pot forever, but it won't be happy if the soil gets soggy or hard/compacted. You can see about wintering inside at
    http://trop-hibiscus.com/gindr.html

• tobalcony
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks Torpeau for the info and link. I don't think it is rootbound right now. I like your advice about the plastic pot inside the clay. I will look around for the spray. This hibiscus is Beautiful!

• tcharles26
    17 years ago

I mostly agree with the previous response, but have some extra thoughts and a few points where i differ a little, take these for what they are worth: