Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jane__ny

Wintering over indoors...is it worth it?

jane__ny
13 years ago

Would like to know how many people winter over and if the plant comes through, and blooms next year. I have a tree hibiscus which bloomed all summer outdoors. Before I bring it in, and try to keep it alive all winter, can I expect the same quality I had this summer?

This has been one beautiful plant!

Thanks,

Jane

Comments (7)

• donaldb
    13 years ago

Give it a try. I've had a tropical one but do not have an ID on it that gets brought in for the winter here in Massachusetts. It's kept in a sunroom that receives southeast light and gets watered a couple times a month. Upon bringing it indoors it's leaves will turn yellow and then regrow new ones. I have been doing this for the past 9 years with the same tree and it blooms profusely during the summer. Good Luck

• jroot
    13 years ago

Jane, I've had a couple of trees for well over 25 years, and they continue to bloom for me every year - even during the winter.

This year I have already brought in 18 of my 20 hibiscus plants. I expect them to drop their leaves, but they will make new ones to acclimatize for the difference in light. I water every 3 or 4 days, but ensure that they have good drainage.

Hopefully, you'll try to keep your beautiful hibiscus. I have one very similar to yours, and I love it.

• jane__ny
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks, for the responses. My question has to do with light. I don't have a lot of light.

Can I cut it back and force dormancy? I could keep it in a cool room over winter. It is a tree type so I don't know if that would work. I guess I could try to keep it alive with lower light.

Never grew one in a pot before. This plant was just so vigorous and healthy, I don't know what to do with it. I'd hate to lose it.

Thanks,
    Jane

• irish_rose_grower
    13 years ago