Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
indian_novice

Anyone from India who can help

indian_novice
16 years ago

Hi, I am a novice from Mumbai, India. I have just started growing hibiscus in earthen pots in my house ledge. Now in India one does not get hibiscus specialty soil or fertilizers meant specially for hibiscus. Also, the climate is different here, so the guidelines for growing hibiscus could differ. As such I was wondering if there is anyone from India who could kindly guide me on the Dos and Don'ts of growing hibiscus. Cheers. Rajeev

Comments (3)

• pricklypearsatx
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Rajeev,

I've seen your post for awhile and wish I could help. I live in San Antonio, TX. I don't know if I can be of any help, but I will try.

I looked up Mumbai on the map and see that it's on India's west coast. I assume that the climate is very hot and dry, as opposed to India's eastern coast which would tend to be humid?

In the US, this would correspond most closely to Phoenix Arizona. (They typically have summers with at least 60 days over 100 degrees)

I also assume that you are growing Chinese Hibiscus and not the American "Swamp Hibiscus", which is decidous.

I'm not knowledgable about gardening in India, but from what I know India is a leader in composting.

In the US, this is what the average gardener would do: They would go to the store and buy potting soil. (It wouldn't have to be a special hibiscus soil.) The difference between potting soil and regular soil is: Potting soil is very light and porous and allows water to drain through the pot. This is necessary for any potted plant, because regular garden soil can quickly smother the roots of a plant. (I know because I quickly killed a small tree by using a "heavy" soil in a pot) The soil should be very light, and when you water, it should drain very quickly.