Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lazydaisies

New to Hibiscus - Have a couple of questions about ROS

Hi there. I am new to the world of hibiscus!

In September I had been eyeing these Rose of Sharon Blue Chiffons at Earl May, and the guy came by and said they were 50% off and if I bought one he'd give me a second one for free. So I couldn't pass that up and brought them home.

I have them both planted and I have a few questions.

Do they need winter protection? I am in zone 5 but last year we were more like zone 4. I ask because I am most familiar with roses and a lot of roses that are sold as hardy here really need protection in order to not die back to the ground.

If you are in a similar zone, when do yours usually leaf out? I read they are late to come out of dormancy.

Does anyone grow any kind of vines up hibiscus? I was thinking of letting something ramble up them since it sounds like they'll be bare the first few months of summer here. Anyone have any feedback on that?

How fast can I expect these to grow? They were in 2 gallon pots.

And last does anyone have any full shrub pictures of Rose of Sharon Blue Chiffon or Lavender Chiffon? I am finding mostly upclose pictures of blooms and would love to see what one looks like from further back.

Thank you in advance for any insight. I am so thankful for this site.

Michaela

Comments (4)

• Dustin Rae
    9 years ago

Good morning thegardenat902,

Do they need winter protection? I am in zone 5:

No your ROS will do quite well on their own in zone 5- if the plants have not had most the summer to establish roots though you can choose to protect them this year with some mulch- either lawn clippings or crushed leaves- then after that they should be established enough to take care of themselves.

If you are in a similar zone, when do yours usually leaf out:

ROS are late to the spring bud game- mine will leaf out in April-May- and will slowly grow until about June when they go nuts and start to bloom profusely!