Return to the Hibiscus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
hardy hibiscus pruning

Posted by nkrz EC OH (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 16, 06 at 11:54

This is my first year for growing these, and I had lots of flowers, but have no clue on if you are supposed to prune these or not. I have already had a frosting on the ground, so I figured I would need to do it soon if need be. Thanks for any helpful info!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: hardy hibiscus pruning

Cut them down to the ground and mulch. They regrow from the crown next spring. Make sure you mark the location as they are late coming up in the spring.

o

I wait for the branches of my hardy hib to die completely. When dead, branches will brake off w/a hearty pull. I don't mulch mine, but leaves from my tree find their way around the plant so I guess it does get a type of mulching. I always leave 1-2 sticks/branches on the plant so I don't mistakingly dig up in spring when I prepare the garden for new plants..Toni

o

"Cut them down to the ground and mulch. They regrow from the crown next spring. Make sure you mark the location as they are late coming up in the spring."

Im new to growing hibs, do they grow that fast each season that its ok to cut them down to the ground?

I have two in large pots that Ive been dragging down to the basement for 2-3 yrs now, maybe longer. and just now decided to prune them for the first time. I stuck a few of the cuttings in a plastic cup of water hoping they'll root.
Has anyone tried propogating by just burying a cutting? I know it works with the fig tree thats why I ask.

TIA!

o