Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nkrz

hardy hibiscus pruning

nkrz
17 years ago

This is my first year for growing these, and I had lots of flowers, but have no clue on if you are supposed to prune these or not. I have already had a frosting on the ground, so I figured I would need to do it soon if need be. Thanks for any helpful info!!

Comments (10)

• rain1950
    17 years ago

Cut them down to the ground and mulch. They regrow from the crown next spring. Make sure you mark the location as they are late coming up in the spring.

• birdsnblooms
    17 years ago

I wait for the branches of my hardy hib to die completely. When dead, branches will brake off w/a hearty pull. I don't mulch mine, but leaves from my tree find their way around the plant so I guess it does get a type of mulching. I always leave 1-2 sticks/branches on the plant so I don't mistakingly dig up in spring when I prepare the garden for new plants..Toni

• FO876
    17 years ago

"Cut them down to the ground and mulch. They regrow from the crown next spring. Make sure you mark the location as they are late coming up in the spring."

Im new to growing hibs, do they grow that fast each season that its ok to cut them down to the ground?

I have two in large pots that Ive been dragging down to the basement for 2-3 yrs now, maybe longer. and just now decided to prune them for the first time. I stuck a few of the cuttings in a plastic cup of water hoping they'll root.
    Has anyone tried propogating by just burying a cutting? I know it works with the fig tree thats why I ask.

TIA!

• nicolenanette
    17 years ago