Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lynn_nevins

what to expect when bringing a potted hibiscus indoors

Lynn Nevins
15 years ago

Hi all. This is my first year with a hibiscus. It is a potted plant and I brought it indoors about 3 weeks ago. I am keeping it in my low sunlight apartment (where the heat is never too hot).

Almost immediately upon bringing it indoors, the appearance of the plant went from healthy to bad. The leaves are shrivelling up and wilting and more and more the plant is looking "dead". Is this just a normal function when you bring hibiscus indoors? Or is it possibly because my apartmnet doesn't have enough light? Would it be better to keep the plant in a more cool place like the basement and if so, should I keep it in a closet in the basement, or out where it can get light?

Should I expect the plant to look "dead" and then once the Spring comes and the danger of frost has passed, I can put it back outside and the plant should come back again?

Thanks!

Comments (3)

• tsmith2579
    15 years ago

I hope you repotted it in real dirt and not store bought potting (potty) soil. (1)If you have it sitting in a drip pan to catch water that drains through, remove it. IT will liik like the leaves are drooping becasue of lack of water. That is deceptive. Tropical hibiscus are notorious about getting root rot if they have wet feet, even in hot summer weather. (2)Water only when needed. (3)If they are inside a dark room, they will drop all the leaves. Hibiscus like lots of light. (4) They like heat. I suggest you go to your local Big Box home store or discount store and buy a two headed halogen shop light on a stand less than $30. It will provide heat and light. Water thoroughly about once a week while inside. Fertilize with 1/2 strength blue stuff about once every 6 weeks. OR let it go dormant by watering only enough to keep it alive. Next spring you can fertilize and put it outside.

• bradley787
    15 years ago