Return to the Hibiscus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to get my hibiscus blooming good again

Posted by parrothead_fa z10 FL (My Page) on
Sun, Dec 10, 06 at 16:33

Hi, I'm new to this particular forum, wish I'd tuned in to it a while back. I have 3 standard hibiscus shrubs, the red or peach variety you get at most garden centers in 3 gal sizes. The first year or two, they bloomed like crazy. Lately, I've been getting a lot of growth, but not many blooms. I have had to cut them back severly 3 times this year, because they keep getting so tall they obscure the lights on the outside of the house. I don't want them to be real short, but 6' plus is a bit rediculous!
Is there a way I can train them to remain a bit shorter, 3-5 ft would be ideal, and produce a profusion of blooms? They are just regular garden variety hibiscus, but look so lovely when they are covered with 6" flowers. The sprinklers water them every other day, and I fertilise them with a 12-6-9 fertilizer twice a month. We are in zone 10 in south Florida. Any input would sure be appreciated.
Dave

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to get my hibiscus blooming good again

Dave,
Since hibiscus bloom on new growth, pruning, although necessary sometimes, will stop that branch from blooming. It takes about 3 months for enough new growth to be produced for new blooms.
I take it you want to keep the standard shape. You'll have to prune it back quite a bit, so that when it does recover from the pruning and start to bloom, it's still a size you want.
What some people do, so that they can still enjoy blooms while keeping the plants size under control, is to prune 1/3 of the branches, leaving some of the branches alone to keep blooming. When the pruned branches bloom again, then they prune back another 1/3...etc.
Hope this helps,
Barb

o