Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
parrothead_fa

How to get my hibiscus blooming good again

parrothead_fa
17 years ago

Hi, I'm new to this particular forum, wish I'd tuned in to it a while back. I have 3 standard hibiscus shrubs, the red or peach variety you get at most garden centers in 3 gal sizes. The first year or two, they bloomed like crazy. Lately, I've been getting a lot of growth, but not many blooms. I have had to cut them back severly 3 times this year, because they keep getting so tall they obscure the lights on the outside of the house. I don't want them to be real short, but 6' plus is a bit rediculous!

Is there a way I can train them to remain a bit shorter, 3-5 ft would be ideal, and produce a profusion of blooms? They are just regular garden variety hibiscus, but look so lovely when they are covered with 6" flowers. The sprinklers water them every other day, and I fertilise them with a 12-6-9 fertilizer twice a month. We are in zone 10 in south Florida. Any input would sure be appreciated.

Dave

Comments (11)

• beachbarbie
    17 years ago

Dave,
    Since hibiscus bloom on new growth, pruning, although necessary sometimes, will stop that branch from blooming. It takes about 3 months for enough new growth to be produced for new blooms.
    I take it you want to keep the standard shape. You'll have to prune it back quite a bit, so that when it does recover from the pruning and start to bloom, it's still a size you want.
    What some people do, so that they can still enjoy blooms while keeping the plants size under control, is to prune 1/3 of the branches, leaving some of the branches alone to keep blooming. When the pruned branches bloom again, then they prune back another 1/3...etc.
    Hope this helps,
    Barb

• pennysue
    17 years ago