Return to the Hawaii Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Katuk/Pak Wan

Posted by mauirose 11 (My Page) on
Sat, Feb 14, 09 at 20:46

Most properly known as Sauropus androgynus, an edible shrub. Anyone know where i can get a plant/cuttings?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Katuk/Pak Wan

I was about to tell you that you can buy it at Frankie's Nursery, but when I looked at their price list I couldn't find Pak Wan. Two years ago, they were selling it and I didn't know more about the plant and how everyone agree that they are delicious--I thought at first that they were selling watermelon (I believe "pakwan" is a Filipino word for watermelon).

If you do get the plant/cuttings, could you tell please where did you get it?

o

You can get it from this place in Puna on the Big Island. I have no experience with them so can't make a recommendation but it's the only place I've found cuttings. I was going to get some shipped here to Cali but don't have the space yet. Best of luck!

Here is a link that might be useful: Gaia Yoga Nursery

o

Thanks so much for the lead. i have emailed them and will post back on how it goes.

o

Just received a box stuffed full of Katuk cuttings-thanks Ano (Gaia Yoga Nursery)! Now i have to get them to grow ; )

o

They should grow really easily. If you grow them as a hedge you'll have good luck. Let us know how it works for you. Glad the hook-up worked out. They're really great there, very helpful and knowledgeable!

o

Pak Wan is not something that you can find in every wet market or supermarket, so it's good that you manage to find it here in Hawaii. Please, tell us how it is going with growing.

Here is a link that might be useful: Hawaii Solar Energy

o