Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
garden_isle_dave

Identifying Hibiscus species/hybrids ?

garden_isle_dave
15 years ago

I'm fairly new to growing Hibiscus; have only been at it about a year now. I'm collecting and starting cuttings of almost any and every one I see at this point. I'd like to identify those that I've got so that I can label and keep track of them.

Is there a website or guide that includes many species and cultivars of Hibiscus in general, or better yet one that covers Hawaii specifically?

I've only gotten an I.D. for two of them, H. Schizopetalus & "Fantasy Charm" which I recently lost, but I sure would like to know what the names of the other 10 are, lol.

I've crossed two of them and the seedlings seems to be doing very well, but I understand that I won't get any blooms from them for about year or so. Worth the wait though!

Another problem is that I've only been able to get that large rd double to produce seed, none of the others. With all but that one the pod develops, yellows, then falls or blows off containing immature seeds.

If someone has some ideas, or could give me some tips 'er tricks, it'd be much appreciated!

Much mahalo in advance and aloha,

~Garden_Isle_Dave

Comments (5)

• Embothrium
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

GardenWeb has a Hibiscus forum. Labeled specimens of various hibiscus can also be seen in local arboretums, botanical gardens and parks. There will surely also be some sort of local Hibiscus Society chapter or other enthusiast group available to you there.

American Hibiscus Society has a web site up.

• pueokai
    15 years ago

Dave - how are you starting your cuttings ? Please give a short tutorial. Just stick the cutting in water ? I'm still trying to get up to see you - how's the butterfly thing going ? I've got some varigated ginger, and blue ginger and a small firecracker red kind I can share when I come - you need any ?

• garden_isle_dave
    Original Author
    15 years ago