Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenu_gw

Creating a flower garden on Kauai

jenu
16 years ago

As a beginner gardener, I'm about to start planning a flower garden... I miss the flowering perennials in my old garden on the mainland, any suggestions as to some perennials that do well on the east side of Kauai, with lots of flowering color? (shrubs and plants)I do like the tropical plants and palms, but am hoping to be able to have a "cottage garden" look as well.

Comments (5)

• mermaidajm
    16 years ago

I'm also a beginner gardener and would like to have a cottage garden look as well but here in Hilo. I can't seem to find nurseries or plant suppliers other than Home Depot or Walmart. Any assistance would be appreciated.

• hawaii50
    16 years ago

Take a walk in your neighborhood and look at the plants in other people's yards. Remember the plants that have a "cottage garden" look, and those that you see frequently will probably be easy to grow.

• oknish
    16 years ago

Hi; I am writing for some information, I just came back
    from Kauai and I fell in love with all of the nice flowers that are over there. I am really interested in the Lily of the Nile. We were on a bus tour and we stopped at a small convenient store along the road, and I seen these blue flowers all over so I asked the clerk what they were called and she said Lily of the Nile, I should just go and pick off a seed pod and take it with me. Well, I did and
    I brought it home and the pod itself was to wet yet that it just dried up into nothing. Now I want to know where I can get some of that seed, so that I can grow them in Minnesota. I love lilies and these just caught my eye. Any help that anyone can give me, I would really appreciate it. Really enjoyed your Island. Have a great
    day. OrDella

• buzzy
    16 years ago