Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kstarrkihei

What kinds of fruit trees can grow in Kihei?

kstarrkihei
17 years ago

Aloha, I hope that one of you expert locals can help me with a question. I am wondering how I can find out what kinds of fruit trees will thrive on the hot dry Kihei side of Maui--and which one's I'll be able to get here on island.

Any help?

Comments (5)

• jscu
    17 years ago

Hi. We also live in Kihei (Maui Meadows). Although I can take no credit for planting our fruit trees we have:
    mangos, figs, lichie, bananas, starfruit, passion fruit, guava, coconut, advocado, papaya and mulberry. We also did have soursop but I cut the tree down, however it is sprouting again! We also have other fruiting trees - Lord only knows what they are - I have not had the nerve to try them. Nice to see someone else in Kihei, although I am no gardening expert from this area!

• raygrogan
    17 years ago

Good list above.

Mangoes especially like it dry and hot. There are websites on how to keep them small (although most get huge). Varieties - although I love the basic Hayden and White Pirie standards, lately I have been planting the "off season" varieties trying to get some during the rest of the year. Can't list favorites yet, as no fruit, but Mapulehu and Rapoza are two candidates.

A mango relative that is astoundingly delish is "maprang". Don't know much else about it - Frankie's in Waimanalo (Oahu) has them and lots of other tropical fruit trees.

Another category is "smallish fruit trees that you pick the fruit to eat while walking in garden, and also hard to buy fruit in markets". Kari starfruit is the star... loquat, jaboticaba, fig, good tangerines, etc. are all fun.