Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
keolapilina

Replanting puakenikeni from cuttings

keolapilina
14 years ago

I am trying to plant a puakenikeni from cuttings. Has anyone ever tried this.... any tips? I'm new at gardening and would appreciate the advice! Mahalo!

Comments (4)

• garden_isle_dave
    14 years ago

Aloha Keolapilina!

It is recommended online that you grow Puakenikeni using the air layer technique, because the mortality rate/success rate of PKK from cuttings is so low (I think the average percentage from a number of different sites online is around 90% mortality)
    BUT, I did successully root 3 out of 10 cuttings I tried last year; started them right around this time, maybe about a month earlier or so actually. I rooted them as I rooted all cuttings, I didn't find out about the mortality rate and whatnot until I researched it online AFTER I tried to grow them (figures...).
    I just dipped the cuttings in rooting hormone and pushed them into a peat/sand/perlite mixture, and misted these once a day until they rooted, it took about 2 months for them to show any sign of growth. Was alot of time, and like I said, I got 3 sad little plants to show for it (cuttings I tried to root were about 3" in length) which I forgot about and let dry out...Awful after all of that time put into them, but anyway...

I've recently started rooting Ti and Hibiscus in ziploc bags, makes it a bit more "set it and forget it". I fill the bottom of the ziploc with the peat/sand/perlite mixture, dip the cutting, stick it down into the soil, mist it a little bit, poke some holes in the bag with a needle so the airflow isnt completely cut off but the humidity is still trapped within to some degree. I have had NEARLY 100% success with this method growing Croton, Ti, Hibiscus, Fig, etc. but have not yet tried it with PKK. Using a similar, but a bit drier, method for Plumeria.