Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
homeschoolmama_gw

Looking for ideas for growning greens.

homeschoolmama
12 years ago

Hi, this is my first time here. I've been gardening for 6 months and love it!!! I'm hoping to find someone that has ideas on growing greens (salad) that keep giving. Like how you can take the leaves from swiss chard and it keeps going. I what to grow more stuff that keeps giving, unlike one time use like lettuce. Hope this makes sense. I would love your ideas. Also do those plants/veggies have a special name? Thanks!

Comments (8)

• mauirose
    12 years ago

Perennial vegetables ; )

Kale keeps on going, my plants are almost two years old now. You can cut the main stem back and new ones will sprout from the base.

Lima beans will keep on going for a long time too. I have a few plants that are almost three now.

Eggplant and cherry tomatoes will keep going for a long time but i like to replant at least once a year.

You might also want to check out pipinola and asparagus.

It makes sense to take advantage of perennial vegetables in Hawaii. Hope others chime in with more suggestions ; )

• mauirose
    12 years ago

Sorry, just noticed that you are looking specifically for greens suggestions.

How about pipinola shoots, sweet potato vines or taro leaf? All of these need to be cooked, though.

• hotzcatz
    12 years ago

Collards will stay alive for a really long time. Just pick the lower leaves and leave the top ones growing.

Leaf lettuce can be grown for awhile, too. Pick the lower leaves and leave the tops growing.

Water cress just keeps growing once you get it established.

There are also moringa trees although that's more of a flavoring than a green.

• randg
    12 years ago

For greens that you could use fresh for salads and are perennial:

Okinawan Spinach
    Thai Basil
    Malabar Spinach (Some people eat it raw)
    Chayote (the leaves shoot could be used fresh)