Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rebecca_hawaii

what is my correct climate zone

rebecca_hawaii
18 years ago

I am new to gardening. My husband and I are moving from Hilo town to a larger parcel up in Kaumana City. Using my zip code, I was told that I am in zone 9. The zip code is the same in Hilo town as in Kaumana City which yields a climate zone of 9. However, I find that to me (of course I am not a plant!), the climate is much different in Kaumana City. It is MUCH cooler and seems to get a little more rain & less sunshine. Am I really in climate zone 9? Is this what the 9a and 9b are for? What will I be able to grow up there? I would like to be able to grow fruits and veggies like: avocados, cabbage, okra, spinach, sweet potatos, tomatos, carrots, and oranges. I would also like to have some nice colorful flowers and bushes for my front yard area. Will I be able to do this in a cooler climate like Kaumana City? Is there anyone near Kuamana City or upper Kaumana who can give me some advise?

Thanks,

Rebecca

Comments (2)

• ilima
    18 years ago

Your elevation above sea level is what will determine what will grow best for you here. Do you know what that is?

A lot of the veggies do better in the cooler wetter higher elevations and it is not too cool for avocado and citrus.

Above 2000' elevation some palm species will no longer be happy and other tropical flowers and shrubs won't like the cool nights either.

Look to see what others in the area are growing. Higher elevations open up a whole new range of wonderful perennial flowers you can grow.
    ilima

• hotzcatz
    18 years ago

Aloha Rebecca,

Kaumana should be fine for most of the things you listed. I'm not sure about the root vegetables such as sweet potatoes & carrots unless you put in the depth of dirt they require. Perhaps you could build some raised beds for them. Many areas of Kaumana are just shallow pockets of soil over pahoehoe lava.