Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kurosuke

Japanese Cucumber Issues!

kurosuke
12 years ago

Hi everyone!

I am new to gardening and need some help!

I potted a Japanese cucumber seedling outside in a pot with store-bought soil about a month ago. The plant initially grew very quickly and vined around the trellis, with yellow flowers popping up regularly.

Now whenever a flower emerges, it quickly shrivels and dies. Also, the leaves are starting to shrivel around the edges and are turning white/yellow. The curly vines are also starting to stop searching and turn brown :(.

I noticed there was what looks like worm/insect trails around the lower leaves, so I sprayed the plant with an insecticide. I also recently sprayed it with some anti-disease spray to try and see if that was an issue.

As for watering, I water them every few days, and less if there's been a lot of rain.

Can anyone point out what I'm doing wrong? Any advise would be greatly appreciated!!!

Comments (5)

• ediblelandscape
    12 years ago

You didn't say where your garden was, but I have the same problems with dying leaves, and plants. Just after the vines produce a few cucumbers, the leaves get brown and the whole vine eventually dies. This happens to some other vegetables, and I believe it is rust, a fungus disease. I just plant new ones all the time but a possible treatment is baking soda with a dormant oil applied to the leaves. Other fungicides are available at the garden shop. This fungus grows better in wet areas but I live in Wainane a very dry area.

• Pelarin
    12 years ago

Cucumbers can be difficult in Hawaii, but I've had friends who've had success with them.

It's difficult to make a diagnosis without a picture of the damage, but here are some ideas: